August 5-7, 2016 – Angkor Amateur Open


Angkor Amateur Open 2016, Ly Hong Makes History Once Again

Ly Hong made Angkor Amateur Open history last year by becoming the first ever multi-time champion of this highly anticipated event. This year, he once again made history by becoming the first player to retain the title in the eight years existence of the event.

The battle for supremacy was a thrilling three-way showdown between some of the best Cambodian amateur golfers in the Kingdom. Trailing by three strokes after the first round to Im Reahul and Seng Van Seya, Ly Hong knew that he would need to give everything he has if he wants to claim his third Angkor Amateur Open title.

After cutting down the lead to two strokes heading into the final back 9, the crafty left-handed Ly Hong reminded again us why he is the reigning champion by finishing the final half of the second round in just 34 strokes which include a birdie in the final hole. With rounds of 76 and 72, total up to 148 strokes, he managed to come out on top yet again.

Phnom Penh’s young talent, Seng Vanseiha, also showed tremendous skills with rounds of 73 and 76 to narrowly fall short by a single stroke but received the honor of best gross in Division 1. Im Reahul, who was in the lead for almost the entire competition, made a costly mistake with one hole to go and had to settle for best net of Division 1 with a total of 78 Stableford points. In second and third place for best net were Mark Johnson and Niranjan Sharma with a total of 68 and 67 points respectively.

We’d like to thank everyone for taking part and congratulate Ly Hong on his victory. His back was against the wall and he showed real character and composure to come through in the closing holes. He played excellent golf all weekend but faced some misfortune on day 1. His final round 72 was fantastic, particularly as he completed his final 9 holes in 2 under par…this added the necessary pressure to the leaders. Im Reahul and Seng Van Seyha will certainly feel hard done by but can be proud of their performance…I’m sure they will have their hands on the title in the near future. It can only be good for the game to see new local challengers coming through.” Angkor Golf Resort’s director of golf, David Baron, noted.

In Division 2we saw some remarkable scores with Francis Yap picking up the net winner title with 88 points total for both rounds, leading the 84 points of second place net Lee Kooi Meng and third place net Terence Tam’s 78 points.

In the Senior Division, William Houng Lee won best gross by shooting rounds of 75 and 78 to produce a total of 153. Lee Yoong Leong grabbed the net title with a total of 81 points, follow behind by SB Lim as runner-up on count-back with 81 points and Chai Yan Sow as second runner-up with 78 points.

The Ladies Division saw Tevy Saroeun, recently qualified to the Faldo Series Grand Final for the second time, coming up on top as the gross winner with impressive rounds of 83 and 79. Best net went to Shen Qiong’s total of 70 points, followed by 69 points of Diana Weibel.

Starting from next year’s Angkor Amateur Open, it is expected that only players with official handicaps will be allowed to join the competition to ensure a fair game for all. This change will be an interesting one as we look forward to the next year’s battle for Cambodia’ best amateur golfer title.




Related Posts